Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute

Bandera County has state's fifth-highest early voting percentage

Posted in:
  • Article Image Alt Text

Numbers from the Texas Secretary of State’s office report 36.82 of registered voters in Bandera County have participated in early voting for the Nov. 8 General Election, accounting for the fifth-highest early voting percentage in in the state.

While hundreds of thousands of votes have been cast Texas counties with more registered voters, only one of the five top registered counties have cracked 30 percent in early voting numbers: Travis County, which as of Thursday clocked in with a 31.25 early voting percentage.

The Secretary of State’s Office reports 6,614 county voters have cast their ballot for this year’s election. There are 17,963 registered voters in Bandera County.

Of those votes, 6,293 were in-person and 321 were mail-in ballots.

The four other counties boasting a higher early voting percentage are Llano (42.57 percent), Terrell (42.29), Blanco (41.97), and Washington (36.96). 

Statewide, 17,672,143 people are registered to vote in the state of Texas; 4,758,945 have participated in early voting for the election, which is 26.93 percent of registered voters.

Early voting concludes Friday, November 4 at 5:30 p.m.

Election Day voting on Tuesday, November 8, is from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. Voting locations are determined by precinct as follows:

  • 101: Bandera High School (Band Hall), 474 Old San Antonio Hwy, Bandera
  • 102: Pipe Creek Volunteer Fire Dept, 1331 FM 1283, Pipe Creek
  • 203: Lakehills Area Library, 7200 FM 1283, Lakehills
  • 204: Lakehills Civic Center, 11225 Park Road 37, Lakehills
  • 305: Ray Mauer Annex 403, 12th Street, Bandera
  • 306: Medina Annex, 161 East Parker Street, Medina
  • 407: Bandera ISD Bus Barn, 1576 Highway 173 South, Bandera
  • 408: Tarpley Community Center, 232 Valentine Lane, Tarpley
  • 409: Lakeshore Volunteer Fire Dept, 9019 Wharton Dock Road, Bandera
  • 410: Vanderpool Volunteer Fire Dept, 32647 FM 187, Vanderpool

Local elections include Bandera Mayor, Bandera City Council, Utopia ISD Board of Trustees, Medina ISD Board of Trustees, District 21 Congressman, District 24, Congressman, and District 53 Representative.

The following candidates will be listed on the ballot as Unopposed Candidates Declared Elected:

  • District Judge, 198th Judicial District: M. Patrick "Pat" Maguire (Republican)
  • County Judge: Richard A. Evans (Republican)
  • District Clerk: Tammy Kneupper (Republican)
  • County Clerk: Tandie Mansfield (Republican)
  • County Treasurer: Beverly Schmidt (Republican)
  • County Commissioner Precinct No. 2: Greg Grothues (Republican)
  • County Commissioner Precinct No. 4: Jordan(Jody) Rutherford, Jr. (Republican)
  • Justice of the Peace Precinct No. 1: Mike Towers (Republican)
  • County Justice of the Peace Precinct No. 2: Gina Grothues (Republican)
  • Justice of the Peace Precinct No. 3: Randy J. Boysen (Republican)
  • Justice of the Peace Precinct No. 4: Lynn D. Holt (Republican)